web counter
Facebook Twitter

Sailing Events Association San Diego

The Sailing Events Association San Diego has been created to promote major sailboat racing events in San Diego for the benefit of the local economy. Direct beneficiaries include the tourism and hospitality industries and the tenants of the Unified Port of San Diego. The Port, the San Diego Tourism Marketing District and the cities are very supportive of the initiative.

Sailing Events Association San Diego Board

Sailing Events Association San Diego has been formed as a 501(c)(4) nonprofit organization. The Board of SEA SD is comprised of leading San Diegans. The officers of Sailing Events Association San Diego are:

Chuck Nichols, Chairman of the Board
Staff Commodore of the San Diego Yacht Club and past President of both the America’s Cup ’95 and the San Diego Super Bowl Host Committee in 1998.

Tom Fetter, Vice Chairman of the Board
Emeritus Trustee of the Zoological Society of San Diego, Emeritus Director of the San Diego Port Tenants Association, Trustee and Past President of the San Diego Space and Science Foundation, Staff Commodore of San Diego Yacht Club, past Trustee of of the Stanford University Athletic Board. Tom is Chairman of T. Fetter & Co., Inc., and related companies engaged primarily is retail gasoline, convenience stores and car washing. Also develops, owns and manages commercial real estate.

JJ Fetter, President/CEO and Board Member
JJ was the Event Coordinator of SEA-SD from 2010 – 2016. She has won two Olympic medals in Sailing in the Women’s 470 class: Silver in the Sydney Olympics in 2000 with crew, Pease Glaser and Bronze in the Barcelona Olympics 1992 with crew Pamela Healy. JJ has also won two World Championships, numerous National and European titles and was a Collegiate All-American at Yale University. In 1995, she was the tactician and starting helmsman for America3 Women’s America’s Cup Team. JJ is a four-time recipient of the Rolex Yachtswoman of the Year award, was named to Sailing World Magazine’s Hall of Fame in 2005, inducted into the San Diego Hall of Champions Hall of Fame in 2010 and the National Sailing Hall of Fame in 2015. Fetter (formerly Isler) also co-authored Sailing for Dummies.

Sharon Cloward, CFO/Treasurer and Board Member
President of the San Diego Port Tenants Association. The Port Tenants Association represents over 300 businesses in the five cities that surround San Diego Bay and is an organization devoted to the best and highest use of a major public resource and to the responsible, fair and effective governance of that resource by the Port District. Sharon’s civic endeavors include volunteering numerous hours for America’s Cup ’92 and ’95 She was a Committee Member of the Superbowl Relations Committee, Past Chairman of Kona Kai International Yacht Clubs Annual Event (America’s Schooner Cup Races). Past President and current Board member of Fleet Week San Diego. Ms. Cloward is also the Founder of the SDPTA’s annual Bay clean up effort know as Operation Clean Sweep.

John Laun, Secretary and Board member
Lifelong sailboat racer, a long time member and a Staff Commodore of the San Diego Yacht Club. In his business career, he led large divisions in sales, marketing, and product development at major corporations and also provided leadership at entrepreneurial enterprises.  The founding President/CEO of SEA-SD, John is still an active Board member.

Mike McDowell, Board member
President of the San Diego Hall of Champions Sports Museum and director of the San Diego Sports Commission. Former Executive Vice President/CEO of the San Diego Lodging Industry Association. McDowell had previously worked as executive vice president for corporate affairs for Atlas Hotels and has served on the Mayor’s Task Force on the Convention Center project.

Dr. Ray Ashley Ph.D., Secretary and Board member
President of the Maritime Museum of San Diego.

Troy Sears, Vice President Regatta Development and Board member
Owner of Next Level Sailing, which provides sailing experiences on the San Diego waterfront for visitors on board a replica of the yacht America and also on two recent America’s Cup racing yachts. Troy has been active in past America’s Cup regattas, including most recently as a part of the victorious BWM ORACLE team in San Diego and Spain.

Tim Kelley, Executive Vice President and Board member

Jeff Brown, On Water and Airspace Coordinator/Liaison and Board member
President of JK3 Nautical Enterprises, boat dealers and brokers in the Southwestern United States. He is the owner of J/World Performance Sailing School, America’s top rated sailing school. Jeff has developed and led the building of several successful one design classes throughout Southern California and Hawaii. In addition to participating in offshore and local racing, he has been the chairman of multiple offshore and local regattas at San Diego Yacht Club. He has been active in past America’s Cup regattas, most recently in Valencia, Spain, and the recent America’s Cup World Series in Plymouth, England.

Sandra Sherman, Board member
Commodore Southwestern Yacht Club. Longtime sailboat racer, active in San Diego area racing both PHRF and on design. Managing Director Product Development Global Asset Servicing at MUFG Union Bank.

Bob Copeland, Board member
Partner – Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP.

Alan Kidd, Board member
President Adelante Strategies providing expertise in business development, marketing and vision strategy expertise.

Andy La Dow, Board member
Staff Commodore, San Diego Yacht Club.

Stephen Frailey, Board Member
Principle at Pacific Tugboat Service and Pacific Dredge Company, USCG Master of Tow, Life Member of the Navy League, Propeller Club Past President, director at The Maritime Alliance, voting member of the San Diego Harbor Safety Committee, active member at SWYC, former US Navy Diver and Campbell Shipyard Dockmaster.

Geoff Longenecker, PhD, Board member
Rear Commodore, Southwestern Yacht Club.

Mike Morton, Board member
Has spent his career in the restaurant industry running the Brigantine Family of Restaurants; a company he and his wife Barbara founded in 1969. He has served on and chaired many boards in San Diego over the years including President San Diego Rotary Club, President San Diego Restaurant Association, Vice Chairman San Diego Trust Bank and the Board of the Maritime Museum. Mike served as Commodore of the San Diego Yacht Club when the America’s Cup was last sailed in San Diego in 1995. He presently serves on the San Diego Yacht Club Sailing Foundation Board of Directors.

Ed Plant, PhD, Board member
San Diego Regional Chamber of Commerce representative.

Tom Voss, Board member
President Manchester Grand Resorts, San Diego ConVis Board member.

Joanne O’Dea, Board member.
Former Biotech executive with diverse experience and responsibility in Quality Control, Development, and Research in FDA-regulated environments within the Biotechnology industry.

Bob Vincent, Board member.
Marketing and sales of yacht charters worldwide. Former transoceanic airline pilot.




Our mission is promote major sailboat racing events in San Diego for the benefit of the local community and the sport of sailing.

Visit the Extreme Sailing San Diego website to learn more about this exciting regatta coming to San Diego Bay from October 18-21, 2018.





Port of San Diego  SDTMD Tourism Authority